2019 CHSL championships

Catholic High School League
2021 Boys Lacrosse Championships

Saturday, May 15, 2021 at Detroit Catholic Central

2021 CHSL Bishop Division Boys Lacrosse Champions: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

Head coach:  Ajay Chawla

Players:  Tommy Kunz, Nate Randall, Lance Williams, Connor Borkowicz, Zach Rivers, Jack Nelson, Nick D'Angelo, Nate Smith, Luke Dudley, Matt Locy, Joey Schmaltz, Nate Schultz, Drew Karcher, Carson Moilanen, Nick Pietrosante, Evan DeVito, William Donaldson, Parker Piwinski, Robert Reaume, Jackson Minelli, Noah Seth, Tim Nelson, Paulie Fortino, Jordan Zawaideh, Tommy Campau, Rory Everly, Luke Washe, Josh Schlackman, Sam Klein, Christian McNulty, Ben Eck, Hunter Polonkey, Quinn Kallio, Aidan Devine, Gavin Corcoran, Clay Karcher


Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice beats Orchard Lake St. Mary's Prep for CHSL championship

Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice overwhelmed Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory 16-4 to repeat as Catholic High School League Bishop Division Boys Lacrosse Champions. It was Brother Rice's record 23rd CHSL title. Brother Rice led 11-0 before St. Mary's scored its first goal with 2:03 left in the first half. Sophomore Josh Schlackman, senior Luke Dudley, and sophomore Christian McNulty scored four goals apiece for Rice in the victory. Junior Paulie Fortino scored twice. Sophomore Ben Eck and junior Connor Borkowicz added goals. Senior Tommy Kunz earned the win in goal.


> Brother Rice overwhelms St. Mary's 16-4 in CHSL lacrosse championship

> Shrine, Brother Rice, Cranbrook, Liggett win Catholic League lacrosse crowns



Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice 26, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood 0

Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory 8, Detroit Catholic Central 7


Saturday, May 15, 2021 at Detroit Catholic Central

2021 CHSL Cardinal Division Boys Lacrosse Champions: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

Head coach: Ryan Jay

Players: Conor Benson, Alex Armenio, Ugo Ike, Jonah Cerone, Brennan Cannaday, Luis Biland, Lucas Maceroni, Jacob Griswold, Joseph Bontrager, Charlie Niehaus, Tommy Robinson, Courtney Buchanan, Peter Murphy, Michael Selman, Reis Davis, Jalen Ramirez, Rocco Russo, Will Babinchak, Shane Bontrager, Carter Buchanan, Chase Baliff, Victor Reid, Zach Shore, Collin Buchanan, Evan Norton, Brody Gearin

Royal Oak Shrine tops Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett for CHSL championship

Royal Oak Shrine Catholic dominated Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett 15-7 to win its first Catholic High School League Cardinal Division Boys Lacrosse Championship. Shrine jumped out to a quick 5-0 lead and led 9-4 at halftime. Sophomore Tommy Robinson led the Knights with seven goals. Junior Conor Benson scored six goals and junior Peter Murphy scored two goals in the victory. Junior Reis Davis was stellar in goal for the Knights (12-0-0).


> Quick start sparks Royal Oak Shrine to first CHSL lacrosse title



Thursday, May 13, 2021

Royal Oak Shrine Catholic 9, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard 4

Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett 11, Dearborn Divine Child 8

Shrine Catholic Schools, Royal Oak, Michigan. Faith. Family. Future.

Past TEAM champions

Bishop Division

Formerly A Division

2021: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice23

2020: No tournament due to pandemic

2019: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice22

2018: Detroit Catholic Central1

2017: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice21

2016: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice20

2015: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice19

2014: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice18

2013: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice17

2012: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice16

2011: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice15

2010: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice14

2009: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice13

2008: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice12

2007: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice11

2006: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice10

2005: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice9

2004: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice8

2003: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice7

2002: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice6

2001: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice5

2000: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice4

1999: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice3

1998: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice2

1997: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice1


Cardinal Division

Formerly B Division

2021: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic1

2020: No tournament due to pandemic

2019: Ann Arbor Greenhills1

2018: Dearborn Divine Child1

2017: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard1

2016: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory10

2015: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory9

2014: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory8

2013: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory7

2012: Madison Heights Bishop Foley2

2011: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory6

2010: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory5

2009: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory4

2008: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory3

2007: Flint Powers Catholic2

2006: Flint Powers Catholic1

2005: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory5

2004: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory4

2003: Madison Heights Bishop Foley1

2002: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory3

2001: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory2

2000: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory1

1999:University of Detroit Jesuit1

1998: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory2

1997: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory1



Just recently in 2009, the Boys Lacrosse Scholar Athlete Award was named to Mike Jolly from Warren
De La Salle Collegiate for his years of service to lacrosse administrators, coaches and athletes  throughout the state. This award has been given annually to one male senior lacrosse player, who has exhibited tremendous success in the classroom while maintaining a presence on a varsity lacrosse team.


2020: D.J. Dixon, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2019: Trey Feldeisen, Ann Arbor Greenhills

2018: Peter Thompson, Detroit Catholic Central

2017: Paul Manuszak, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2016: Riley North, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2015: Hunter Hoensheid, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2014: Steven Ramos, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard

2013: Michael O’Neil, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2012: John Leoni, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard

2011: Alan Tadian, University of Detroit Jesuit

2010: Stephen Degenhardt, University of Detroit Jesuit

2009: Nick Schesnuk, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2008: Robert Healy, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2007: Chris Zaglaniczny, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2006: Matt Paletta, University of Detroit Jesuit

2005: Kyle Ludeman, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2004: Matthew Willms, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2003: David Himrod, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2002: Robert Cheyne, Harper Woods Notre Dame

2001: Roger Himrod, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2000: Eric Kraft, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1999: Sean Quinlan-Davidson, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

1998: Eric Swanson, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

1997: Brian Larimer, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

1996: Matt Mannering, University of Detroit Jesuit