2021 CHSL championships  l  2020 CHSL championships  l   2019 CHSL championships

Catholic High School League
2022 Boys Hockey Championships

Saturday, January 22, 2022, at John Lindell Arena, Royal Oak

2022 CHSL Boys Hockey Cardinal Division champions: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett

Head coach: Colin Smith   Assistant coaches: Rob Allaer, Eric Werner

Players: Ben Wehrmann, Ethan Schlenker, Jake Martin, Jack Parker, Brody Lindsay, Stephen Wheatley, Michael Eugenio, Caden Ancona, Ryan King, Oliver Service, Rocco Scarfone, Francis Blake, Douglas Wood, Sean Sullivan, Ian Gudenau, Jake Kolk, Campbell Marchal, Maksim Johns

Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett reclaims Cardinal Division title in overtime

Senior forward Doug Wood scored with 1:06 left in overtime to give Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett a thrilling 5-4 victory and the Knights’ second Catholic High School League Cardinal Division boys hockey championship in three seasons, beating defending champions Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard/Ann Arbor Greenhills. Liggett led for most of the contest, until Gabriel Richard’s Jack Lapinski  poked in a loose puck for the tying goal with 00.7 seconds remaining in regulation. Wood had also scored Liggett’s first goal just 1:18 into the game, and its fourth tally late in the second period. In between, he assisted on goals by linemates Stephen Wheatley and Jake Kolk, giving him a five-point night. Maksim Johns earned the victory in goal. Jack Waldo had two goals and two assists for Gabriel Richard. With the win, Liggett raised its record to 11-4-0. Gabriel Richard is 11-2-0. The consolation game between Allen Park Cabrini-Riverview (7-8-1) and Madison Heights Bishop Foley United* (9-7-1) ended in a 4-4 tie. Liggett beat Bishop Foley 5-1 and Gabriel Richard beat Cabrini 4-1 in the semifinals on Friday, Jan. 21.


> Thrilling overtime goal decides Catholic League hockey championship in Liggett’s favor


* The Bishop Foley United roster is composed of skaters from Foley, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic, Macomb Lutheran North, Clarkston Everest Collegiate, and Marine City Cardinal Mooney.

Friday, December 3, 2021, Mt. Clemens Ice Arena

2022 CHSL Boys Hockey Bishop Division champions: Detroit Catholic Central

Head coach: Brandon Kaleniecki   Assistant coaches: Maureen Gatt, Michael Giordano, Eric Giosa, David Moss, Thomas Nugent, Michael Porter, Gordon St. John

Players: Austin Janz, Sebastiano Iavasile, Garret Freel, Nate Grondzieleski, Noah Szmagaj, Griffin Crampton, Kaden Hemme, Michael Connor, Jackson Hare, Ryan Wantuck, Jackson Walsh, Nick Swider, Justin Hubenschmidt, Nick Condon, Nolan Galda, Connor Miles, Carson Wood, Brian Apple, Parker Jamieson, Jackson Ewald, Conner Bell, Landon West, Luke Radu, Jack Swamba, Matthew Rickabaugh, Bob Masters, Connor Benoit, Nicholas Galda

Detroit Catholic Central wins fifth straight Bishop Division championship

Senior Justin Hubenschmidt and junior Nate Grondzieleski scored to lift Detroit Catholic Central past Warren De La Salle Collegiate 2-0 to earn its fifth straight Catholic High School League Bishop Division boys hockey championship. Catholic Central edged Riverview Gabriel Richard 2-1 and De La Salle topped Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood 3-1 in the semifinals on Thursday, Dec. 2. In quarterfinal matchups, Catholic Central beat Dearborn Divine Child 9-0, Riverview Gabriel Richard topped University of Detroit Jesuit 5-1, Cranbrook beat Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory 2-1, and De La Salle downed Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice 4-0.


Past TEAM champions

Bishop Division

Formerly Division 1

2022: Detroit Catholic Central12

2021: Detroit Catholic Central11

2020: Detroit Catholic Central10

2019: Detroit Catholic Central9

2018: Detroit Catholic Central8

2017: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory2

2016: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice2

2015: Detroit Catholic Central 7

2014: Detroit Catholic Central6

2013: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice1

2012: Detroit Catholic Central5

2011: Warren De La Salle Collegiate2

2010: Detroit Catholic Central4

2009: Detroit Catholic Central3

2008: Warren De La Salle Collegiate1

2007: Detroit Catholic Central2

2006: Detroit Catholic Central1

2005: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory1


Cardinal Division

Formerly Division 2

2022: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett2

2021: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard7

2020: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett1

2019: Allen Park Cabrini1

2018: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard6

2017: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard5

2016: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard4

2015: Riverview Gabriel Richard4

2014: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard3

2013: Riverview Gabriel Richard3

2012: Riverview Gabriel Richard2

2011: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard2

2010: Riverview Gabriel Richard1

2009: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard1

2008: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory4

2007: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory3

2006: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory2

2005: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory1


Scholar Athlete LEADER Award

The boys' hockey award is presented to the top male scholar-athlete in the sport.

2020: Tristian Reilly, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett

2019: Bryce Kallen, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

2018: Jared Lee, Detroit Catholic Central

2017: Gregory Pine, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2016: Jaret Koger, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2015: Ryan Michael Barrett, Dearborn Divine Child

2014: Steven Timm, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard

2013: Cooper Anstett, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

2012: Luke Ortel, Madison Heights Bishop Foley Catholic

2011: Matthew Sweet, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

2010: Paul Barron, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2009: Michael Szuma, Detroit Catholic Central

2008: Nick Tinetti, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2007: Jeff Cain, Dearborn Divine Child

2006: Matt McGarry, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2005: James Gat, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2004: Steven Pokorski, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory