University of Detroit Jesuit, Detroit, Michigan
Marian High School, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Brother Rice High School, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.
Mercy High School, Farmington Hills, Michigan
Academy of the Sacred Heart, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Notre Dame Preparatory, Pontiac, Michigan
Cranbrook Schools, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
St. Catherine of Siena Academy, Wixom, Michigan
Regina High School, Warren, Michigan
Loyola High School, Detroit, Michigan.
Everest Collegiate High School and Academy. Clarkston, Michigan. An Authentic Catholic School of Distinction.
Greenhills School, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Academic foundation for success.
Shrine Catholic Schools, Royal Oak, Michigan. Faith. Family. Future.

2018 Catholic High School League
Boys Soccer Championships

Updated Wednesday, October 10, 2018


A-B Division

2016-18 CHSL champion: Novi Detroit Catholic Central



Wednesday, October 10.

At Madison Heights Bishop Foley


D1 No. 6 Novi Detroit Catholic Central 3,
D2 No. 9 Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood 0


Novi Detroit Catholic Central: Senior David Jeswin, 1-0

Novi Detroit Catholic Central: Senior David Jeswin, 2-0

Novi Detroit Catholic Central: Senior John Willemsen, 3-0

Winning goalie:

Novi Detroit Catholic Central: Senior Justin Johnson


> Catholic Central claims CHSL A-B title with 3-0 win over Cranbrook

> It's a three-peat for Catholic Central in Catholic League championship
















C-D Division

2018 CHSL champion: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic



Wednesday, October 10

At Madison Heights Bishop Foley


D4 No. 10 Royal Oak Shrine Catholic 1, Riverview Gabriel Richard 0


Royal Oak Shrine Catholic: Senior Owen Groth, 1-0

Winning goalie:

Royal Oak Shrine Catholic: Freshman Stephen Ruhle


> Shrine edges Gabriel Richard in CHSL C-D final, 1-0














Past champions


A-B Division

2018: Novi Detroit Catholic Central7

2017: Novi Detroit Catholic Central6

2016: Novi Detroit Catholic Central5

2015: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice10

2014: Novi Detroit Catholic Central4

2013: University of Detroit Jesuit2

2012: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice9

2011: Warren De La Salle Collegiate16

2010: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice8

2009: Warren De La Salle Collegiate15

2008: Warren De La Salle Collegiate14

2007: Warren De La Salle Collegiate13

2006: Warren De La Salle Collegiate12

2005: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice7

2004: Warren De La Salle Collegiate11

2003: Warren De La Salle Collegiate10

2002: Warren De La Salle Collegiate9

2001: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice6

2000: University of Detroit Jesuit1

1999: Birmingham Brother Rice5

1998: Warren De La Salle Collegiate8

1997: Birmingham Brother Rice4

1996: Warren De La Salle Collegiate7

1995: Warren De La Salle Collegiate6

1994: Birmingham Brother Rice3

1993: Redford Detroit Catholic Central*4

1992: Redford Detroit Catholic Central*3

1991: Warren De La Salle Collegiate5

1990: Warren De La Salle Collegiate4

1989: Warren De La Salle Collegiate3

1988: Birmingham Brother Rice2

1987: Warren De La Salle Collegiate2

1986: Birmingham Brother Rice1

1985: Warren De La Salle Collegiate1

1984: Redford Detroit Catholic Central*2

1983: Harper Woods Notre Dame**1

1982: Redford Detroit Catholic Central*1

* Moved to Novi in 2005

** Closed in 2005


C-D Division

2018: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic1

2017: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard1

2016: Allen Park Cabrini1

2015: Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Preparatory2

2014: Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Preparatory1

2013: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory3

2012: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory2

2011: Dearborn Divine Child1

2010: Madison Heights Bishop Foley3

2009: Madison Heights Bishop Foley2

2008: Madison Heights Bishop Foley1

2007: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory1























Novi Detroit Catholic Central -- 2018 CHSL A-B Division boys soccer champion.

Royal Oak Shrine Catholic -- 2018 CHSL C-D Division boys soccer champion.

Brother George Synan Award

A Christian Brother since 1929, Brother George served in the earliest days of the Catholic League as a coach and administrator at old St. Joseph's and De La Salle high schools. He continues his presence even today at Catholic League events, known for his remarkable memory of alumni and their families. Named a "Legend of the League" in 1993, Brother George gave Detroit its foundation and started the New York Catholic League. The boys' soccer award is presented to a scholar-athlete in his name.


2018: Henry Koelling, Novi Detroit Catholic Central

2017: Justin Stack, Dearborn Divine Child

2016: Ian McNamara, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

2015: Jonathan R. Williams, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2014: Domenic Fusco, Allen Park Cabrini

2013: Patrick Lass, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2012: Nicholas Orlando, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2011: Ryan Majsak, Novi Detroit Catholic Central

2010: Thomas Twardecki, Marine City Cardinal Mooney

2009: Sean Dotson, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

2008: Phillip Presnell, University of Detroit Jesuit

2007: Blake Bankwitz, Dearborn Divine Child

2006: Nathan Moseley, Allen Park Cabrini

2005: Mark Fazi, Harper Woods Notre Dame

2004: Bradley Field, Redford Catholic Central

2003: Kyle Pfieffer, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2002: Bill Salmonowicz, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2001: Mike Knesek, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2000: Derek Muller, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

1999: Peter Sassalos, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1998: Andrew Husek, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

1997: Alan Fortunate, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1996: Thom Mychal, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

1995: Keith Russeau, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

1994: Adam Borchert, Redford Catholic Central

1993: Salvatore Gillette, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1992: Todd Nicol, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1991: Christian Maas, Birmingham Brother Rice

1990: Andrew Macielewski, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1989: Michael DuBay, Birmingham Brother Rice

1988: William Rielly, University of Detroit Jesuit

1987: Tim Foerg, University of Detroit Jesuit

1986: John Kaminski, Harper Woods Notre Dame

1985: Michael Wiater, Birmingham Brother Rice

1984: Larry Wagner, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

1983: Edwin Kast, Madison Heights Bishop Foley