2020 CHSL championships 2019 CHSL championships  l  2018 CHSL championships

Catholic High School League
2021 Boys Soccer Championships

Wednesday, October 6, 2021 at Detroit Catholic Central

2021 CHSL Bishop Division Boys Soccer Champions: Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood

Head coach: Chad O'Kulich

Players: Seniors: Garrett Gantz, Vinay Doshi, Ryan Marvar, Brogan Dougherty, Ryan Kushnir, Dylan Kowal, Zach Wittenberg, Jake Wysocki, Daniel Davies, Jason Liu, Bennett Luckoff, Justin Liang, Jeff Ren; Juniors: Nathan Hooker, Jason Lin, John Lee, Evan Evans, Ismail Asfour, Ian Chang, Bora Akgun; Sophomores: Nathaniel Kim, Cameron Hannah, Clarke Hay, Blake Johnson

Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood wins first CHSL Bishop Division championship

After being runner-up the past five seasons, Division 2 No. 7-ranked Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood dominated Warren De La Salle Collegiate 4-1 to win its first Catholic High School League Bishop Division Championship. Senior Zack Whittenberg scored two goals for the Cranes. Sophomore Cameron Hannah opened the scoring for the Cranes with 27.36 left in the first half on a penalty kick. Senior Ryan Marvar scored to give Cranbrook at 3-1 lead at halftime. Cranbrook has won the CHSL AA Division regular season title the past 11 years, but as a new member, weren't allowed to participate in the CHSL playoffs until its sixth year in the league. Cranbrook improved to 10-1-2 overall. De La Salle fell to 8-6-4.


> Cranbrook defeats De La Salle in Catholic League soccer final

> Cranbrook, University-Liggett win Catholic League soccer championship titles


Cranbrook Schools, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan. Challeging and Comprehensive College Preparation.

Wednesday, October 6, 2021 at Detroit Catholic Central

2021 CHSL Cardinal Division Boys Soccer Champions: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett

Head coach: David Dwaihy

Players: Seniors: Alex George, Jake Carron, Jack Parker, Henry Meraw, Justin Harthorn, Matthew Belcrest, James Dailey, Caden Ancona, Dougie Wood, Leo Muller, Stephen Fozo; Juniors: Langston Evans, Mac Katz, Peter Tsilimingras, Taurian Dorty, Ian Gudenau, Jake Kolk, Ben Combs, Chase Connell; Sophomores: John Francis, Cass Cooley, Claudio Cavallo, Giovanni Thams, Kobe Donaldson, Leyao Zeng, Ricardo Williams; Freshmen: Alex Wysocki, Bobby Harthorn, Kaden Logan

Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett wins CHSL Cardinal Division championship

Division 2 No. 3-ranked Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett held off Division 4 No. 4-ranked Royal Oak Shrine Catholic 2-1 to win its second Catholic High School League Cardinal Division Championship in three years. Senior Jake Carron scored for Liggett four minutes into the game. Sophomore Claudio Cavallo scored with 24.19 left to give Liggett a 2-0 lead. Senior Jeff Andrus scored for Shrine with 6:08 left to close the game to 2-1. Senior Alex George earned the victory in goal for Liggett.

Shrine Catholic Schools, Royal Oak, Michigan. Faith. Family. Future.

Past TEAM champions

Bishop Division

Formerly A-B Division

2021: Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood1

2020: Detroit Catholic Central8

2019: University of Detroit Jesuit3

2018: Detroit Catholic Central7

2017: Detroit Catholic Central6

2016: Detroit Catholic Central5

2015: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice10

2014: Detroit Catholic Central4

2013: University of Detroit Jesuit2

2012: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice9

2011: Warren De La Salle Collegiate16

2010: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice8

2009: Warren De La Salle Collegiate15

2008: Warren De La Salle Collegiate14

2007: Warren De La Salle Collegiate13

2006: Warren De La Salle Collegiate12

2005: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice7

2004: Warren De La Salle Collegiate11

2003: Warren De La Salle Collegiate10

2002: Warren De La Salle Collegiate9

2001: Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice6

2000: University of Detroit Jesuit1

1999: Birmingham Brother Rice5

1998: Warren De La Salle Collegiate8

1997: Birmingham Brother Rice4

1996: Warren De La Salle Collegiate7

1995: Warren De La Salle Collegiate6

1994: Birmingham Brother Rice3

1993: Detroit Catholic Central4

1992: Detroit Catholic Central3

1991: Warren De La Salle Collegiate5

1990: Warren De La Salle Collegiate4

1989: Warren De La Salle Collegiate3

1988: Birmingham Brother Rice2

1987: Warren De La Salle Collegiate2

1986: Birmingham Brother Rice1

1985: Warren De La Salle Collegiate1

1984: Detroit Catholic Central2

1983: Harper Woods Notre Dame*1

1982:  Detroit Catholic Central1

** Closed in 2005


Cardinal Division

Formerly C-D Division

2021: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett2

2020: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic2

2019: Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett1

2018: Royal Oak Shrine Catholic1

2017: Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard1

2016: Allen Park Cabrini1

2015: Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Preparatory2

2014: Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Preparatory1

2013: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory3

2012: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory2

2011: Dearborn Divine Child1

2010: Madison Heights Bishop Foley3

2009: Madison Heights Bishop Foley2

2008: Madison Heights Bishop Foley1

2007: Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory1



A Christian Brother since 1929, Brother George served in the earliest days of the Catholic League as a coach and administrator at old St. Joseph's and De La Salle high schools. He continues his presence even today at Catholic League events, known for his remarkable memory of alumni and their families. Named a "Legend of the League" in 1993, Brother George gave Detroit its foundation and started the New York Catholic League. The boys' soccer award is presented to a scholar-athlete in his name.


2020: Parker Stager, Macomb Lutheran North

2019: Clarkston Doman, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood

2018: Henry Koelling, Novi Detroit Catholic Central

2017: Justin Stack, Dearborn Divine Child

2016: Ian McNamara, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

2015: Jonathan R. Williams, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2014: Domenic Fusco, Allen Park Cabrini

2013: Patrick Lass, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2012: Nicholas Orlando, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2011: Ryan Majsak, Novi Detroit Catholic Central

2010: Thomas Twardecki, Marine City Cardinal Mooney

2009: Sean Dotson, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

2008: Phillip Presnell, University of Detroit Jesuit

2007: Blake Bankwitz, Dearborn Divine Child

2006: Nathan Moseley, Allen Park Cabrini

2005: Mark Fazi, Harper Woods Notre Dame

2004: Bradley Field, Redford Catholic Central

2003: Kyle Pfieffer, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2002: Bill Salmonowicz, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2001: Mike Knesek, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2000: Derek Muller, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

1999: Peter Sassalos, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1998: Andrew Husek, Royal Oak Shrine Catholic

1997: Alan Fortunate, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1996: Thom Mychal, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

1995: Keith Russeau, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

1994: Adam Borchert, Redford Catholic Central

1993: Salvatore Gillette, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1992: Todd Nicol, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1991: Christian Maas, Birmingham Brother Rice

1990: Andrew Macielewski, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

1989: Michael DuBay, Birmingham Brother Rice

1988: William Rielly, University of Detroit Jesuit

1987: Tim Foerg, University of Detroit Jesuit

1986: John Kaminski, Harper Woods Notre Dame

1985: Michael Wiater, Birmingham Brother Rice

1984: Larry Wagner, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

1983: Edwin Kast, Madison Heights Bishop Foley