2020 CHSL championships 2019 CHSL championships

Catholic High School League
2022 Wrestling Championships

Friday, February 4, 2022 at Detroit Catholic Central, Novi

2022 CHSL Wrestling Champions: Detroit Catholic Central

Head coaches: Mitch Hancock (Blue); Mike Carrier (White)  l  Assistant coaches: Bob Moreau, Anthony Biondo, Matt Steintrager, Sam Amine, Dave Beazley

Wrestlers: Seniors: Sean Field, Charles Hunsinger, Niko Portillo, Manuel Rojas, Andrew Ross, Jayson Saad, Anthony Walker; Juniors: Cameron Adams, TJ Bunn, Dylan Gilcher, Drew Heethuis, Clayton Jones, Daniel Long, Christian Werner, Steven Shellenberger; Sophomores: Michael Cannon, Simon Dominguez, Darius Marines, Mason Stewart, Freshmen: Connor Bercume, Drew Brewer, Lee Krueger, Jake Matigian, Nico Pasienza, Mason Perry, Kaden Strayhorn, Nathan Walkowiak, Andrew White

Detroit Catholic Central wins another CHSL wrestling championship

Detroit Catholic Central cruised past the field to win its 27th straight Catholic High School League wrestling championship, earning eight individual titles -- Nathan Walkowiak (103), Michael Cannon (112), Drew Heethuis (119), Anthony Walker (125), Clayton Jones (130), Jake Matigian (140), Dylan Gilcher (145), and Andrew White (171). Catholic Central finished with 240.5 points. Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory was second at 142. Warren De La Salle Collegiate finished third with 139.5 points.

Final team results

1. Detroit Catholic Central, 240.5

2. Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, 142

3. Warren De La Salle Collegiate, 139.5

4. Madison Heights Bishop Foley, 125.5

5. Dearborn Divine Child, 77

6. University of Detroit Jesuit, 70.5

7. Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice, 68.5

8. Macomb Lutheran North, 50.5

9. Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard, 47

10. Riverview Gabriel Richard, 23

11. Detroit Loyola, 11

12. Detroit Cristo Rey, 7

12. Royal Oak Shrine Catholic, 5

Individual CHAMPIONS

103 pounds: Nathan Walkowiak, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Joe Hakim, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice, pinfall

112 pounds: Michael Cannon, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Jace Morgan, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice, 7-4 decision

119 pounds: Drew Heethuis, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Zander Munk, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, pinfall

125 pounds: Anthony Walker, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Jaime Ibarra, Dearborn Divine Child, 23-5 technical fall

130 pounds: Clayton Jones, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Jack Chudler, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, pinfall

135 pounds: Sean Mammen, University of Detroit Jesuit, defeated Joey Hildreth, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, 8-3 decision

140 pounds: Jake Matigian, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Joey Montilla, Warren De La Salle Collegiate, 11-2 majority decision

145 pounds: Dylan Gilcher, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Nathan O'Donnell, Warren De La Salle Collegiate, technical fall

152 pounds: Joey Calhoun, Riverview Gabriel Richard, defeated John Bungart, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, 17-4 majority decision

160 pounds: Charles White, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, defeated Christian Werner, Detroit Catholic Central, pinfall

171 pounds: Andrew White, Detroit Catholic Central, defeated Ethan Connert, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, 9-7 overtime decision

189 pounds: Vinny Lertola, Warren De La Salle Collegiate, defeated Bowen Beshears, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, 5-4 decision

215 pounds: Iahn Breen, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard, defeated Cole Whalen, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory, pinfall

285 pounds: Isaiah Ploucha, Dearborn Divine Child, defeated Dontez Fuller, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice, pinfall


103: Nathan Walkowiak

112: Michael Cannon

119: Drew Heethuis

125: Anthony Walker

130: Clayton Jones

135: Sean Mammen,

140: Jake Matigian

145: Dylan Gilcher

152: Joey Calhoun

160: Charles White

171: Andrew White

189: Vinny Lertola

215: Iahn Breen

285: Isaiah Ploucha

Past TEAM champions

Overall Division

2022: Detroit Catholic Central41

2021: Tournament canceled due to pandemic

2020: Detroit Catholic Central40

2019: Detroit Catholic Central39

2018: Detroit Catholic Central38

2017: Detroit Catholic Central37

2016: Detroit Catholic Central36

2015: Detroit Catholic Central35

2014: Detroit Catholic Central34

2013: Detroit Catholic Central33

2012: Detroit Catholic Central32

2011: Detroit Catholic Central31

2010: Detroit Catholic Central30

2009: Detroit Catholic Central29

2008: Detroit Catholic Central28

2007: Detroit Catholic Central27

2006: Detroit Catholic Central26

2005: Detroit Catholic Central**25

2004: Detroit Catholic Central24

2003: Detroit Catholic Central23

2002: Detroit Catholic Central22

2001: Detroit Catholic Central21

2000: Detroit Catholic Central20

1999: Detroit Catholic Central19

1998: Detroit Catholic Central18

1997: Detroit Catholic Central17

1996: Detroit Catholic Central16

1995: Detroit Catholic Central15

1994: Birmingham Brother Rice (A-B)1

1994: Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory (C-D)1

1993: Detroit Catholic Central (A-B)

1993: Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard (C-D)

1992: Detroit Catholic Central14

1991: Detroit Catholic Central13


1989: Detroit Catholic Central12

1988: Detroit Catholic Central11

1987: Detroit Catholic Central10

1986: Detroit Catholic Central9



1983: Detroit Catholic Central8


1981: Detroit Catholic Central7

1980: Detroit Catholic Central6

1979: Detroit Catholic Central5

1978: Detroit Catholic Central*4

1977: Detroit Catholic Central3

1976: Detroit Catholic Central2

1975: Detroit Catholic Central1

* Detroit Catholic Central moved from Detroit to Redford in 1978.

** Detroit Catholic Central moved from Redford to Novi in 2005.



The Wrestling Award was named in honor of the former Detroit Catholic Central wrestling coach Mike Rodriguez. Selections for this award are based on academic achievement, while being a member of the varsity team.


2020: Mike Rodriquez, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2019: Joseph Urso, Detroit Catholic Central

2018: Rory Cox, Detroit Catholic Central

2017: Matthew Leonard, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

2016: James Bird, Dearborn Divine Child

2015: McLain Shearin, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2014: Tyler Ringler, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2013: Joe Schudt, Warren De La Salle Collegiate

2012: Ian McEachern, University of Detroit Jesuit

2011: Miles Trealout, Detroit Catholic Central

2010: Matthew Thompson, Detroit Catholic Central

2009: William Lamping, University of Detroit Jesuit

2008: Sam Ellis, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2007: Adam Michalski, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2006: Said Askar, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2005: Jeff Schuele, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2004: Ciro Spigno, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Preparatory

2003: Matt Salgat, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2002: Gerry Mattei, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

2001: Kevin Harrington, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice

2000: Justin VanTassel, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

1999: Matthew Murphy, Pontiac Notre Dame Preparatory

1998: Matthew Peterson, Detroit Catholic Central

1997: Paul Lozito, Madison Heights Bishop Foley

1996: John Spolsky, Detroit Catholic Central

1995: Andrew Short, Detroit Catholic Central

1994: Bahram Kani, Birmingham Brother Rice

1993: Mark Krankel, Harper Woods Notre Dame

1992: John McGuire, Birmingham Brother Rice